Subdivisions in District Satara

Satara – from Province to District

In 1948, the district Satara (earlier called as Satara Province) comprised of 11 subdivisions namely Bijapur(Now a part of Karnataka State), Jaoli, Karad, Khanapur Khatav, Koregaon, Pandharpur,Satara, Tasgaon, Walwa and Wai. In 1856, twelve new mahals were formed.

The Sub-divisional boundaries were again overhauled in the year 1962. After that several changes has been observed by transferring talukas and subdivisions like Pandharpur to Solapur, Bijapur to Belgaum. Malcompeth Peta(later named as Mahableshwar) formed in 1884 and Khandala abolished in 1927, later both re-constituted in 1947.

Consequent upon merger of former Indian States, Satara district re-constituted.

In 1947 the Satara district was bifurcated in two, named South Satara as its headquarter at Sangli and North Satara at Satara. Both districts were included in Bombay State. Since 1960, the name of North Satara district changed to Satara and South Satara to Sangli. At 1961 Census, Satara district comprised of 9 talukas and 2 mahals and 1160 villages.

SDO Officers
Taluka’s under jurisdiction STD  Code Phone
Satara, Jaoli> 2162 234395
Karad 2164 221378
Wai, Khandala,  Mahabaleshwar 2167 227744
Phaltan 2166 222386

Newly Formed SDO Offices as per Govt. of Maharashtra,(Gazette Dt. 26’th July 2013)

SDO Offices [As per Gazette Dt. 26’th July 2013]
Taluka’s under jurisdiction STD Code Phone
Koregaon 02163 221300
Patan 02372 283122
Man & Khatav